• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

I need help with my Gold Tegu!

Dom Washington

I have a Columbian gold tegu who's about 5 months old. I've read a lot in the forums on working on taming the little guy. I've never heard a story of any tegu like mine. So here's my issues I've been working slowly for the last 2-3 months on taming him. He lives in a 4'x4'x3' enclosure and He just started to come out when I get home. Keep in mind he never sees me put his food in. Whenever I have to do tank maintenance he attacks my hand and latches on with his little teeth. Or he flies out of the enclosure and u have to find him. I'm looking for anyway I can calm this down and figure out what's going on. Others that I have talked to about my problem, only tell me be patient. But they also tell me for a little guy like him doesn't normally attack like this. I also have another tegu who I've been working with and he's coming along great.Any Advice is welcome.

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Hi Dom- Forum members keeping this species have had varying degrees of success in success of taming. Perhaps some will chime in. I am aware of young ones being highly defensive.

David607

Hi I just joined because I have the same issue, mine is about 15-20" don't know it's age but he is a juvi. As soon as I stick my hand in the 3ftx5x4ft enclosure, he attack me biting really hard and twisting all in a matter of seconds, what the heck is going on is he just crazy.

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Well, sadly been about one month since my response and no comments by teguixin keepers.