• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Tegutasticc

Hello I'm new to TeguTalk. I've been doing research on Tegus because I am looking into getting one this year. There are many different debates on free roaming. I am planning on getting a juvenile b&w Tegu, and will provide a 4'x2'x2' enclosure for him/her(since I know they grow fast). Whenever they end up growing out of the 4'x2'x2' enclosure can I have them free roam in the bedroom (I'll make sure the bedroom is Tegu safe of course) and have the 4'x2'x2' enclosure be used strictly as a basking/burrowing/humidity house(they would also, have regularly scheduled bath times)? Thoughts? Opinions? (FOR MY RESEARCH)

Last edited:

TheTeguNovice

5 Year Member
Welcome to the forum! right out the gates swinging hard I see lol. My question is this,.....what is your primary reason for having your tegu free roam? Is it for you or for him/her? A lot of people are usually intimidated by enclosure size and cost so they conclude hey I can make my room sufficient. I was one of these people lol check out my post 5 years ago I asked about the "Macgyver" tegu on youtube smh.