• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Clearly Loved Pets Clear Playpen Tegu Enclosure

sdubler08

Hello everybody, this is my first time on this forum. I am planning the purchase of either an Argentine black & white tegu or a red one. I have been researching for a while. For the first two months of its life it will be housed in a 20 gallon long. Once it outgrows that, I am planning a believed to be, one of a kind enclosure and I need your guys' thoughts. Remember I would like to raise this reptilian lizard as a house pet; similar to Macgyver The Lizard (a full grown red tegu) on YouTube. I am planning to do a similar setup from Macgyver; yet my tegu's enclosure would be from Clearly Loved Pets; (don't worry, I'd hang lighting above it). I need your thoughts on the setup of this enclosure. You see, rather than doing a substrate, like coconut bedding and cyper's mulch, I'd do something similar to Macgyver's, like an easy to clean rug. Also, does anyone know where I can locate a hatchling (baby) Argentine black and whit or red tegu?

here's a link to the pen -

Thanks so much,

sdubler08

rantology

#1 issue I see with an open-air setup like that is humidity. Tegus need 70-80% humidity, reds even higher. You didn't mention the climate where you live though. What is the humidity like in your home usually?

sdubler08

#1 issue I see with an open-air setup like that is humidity. Tegus need 70-80% humidity, reds even higher. You didn't mention the climate where you live though. What is the humidity like in your home usually?