• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Cold Tolerance question

Zach Spyker

I've been keeping 3 tegus for about two years now(1red 1blue 1bw) last winter was mild and they bermated and cam out okay . But we're having a harsh winter this year and the reptile room I keep my tegu in is trying to stay at 72 degrees with nightime outside drops to 25°F.
Today I was checking temps and realized in this cold ass weather/snow everywhere, that the temps near the floor in their corner of the room are getting cold and drafty temping at 43°F and my blue tegu is not looking good at all her tongue is stuck out of her mouth shes not moving looks nearly dead and cold as hell I pulled her out from under the log she was under and warming up a little and slowly as to not shock her system I now she trying to burmate but I think she got too cold.
Going to get that cold draft sealed up with some great stuff and flex seal and more straw.
So what's the coolest they can safely be I'm guessing it's in the mid 50s to low 60s for blues
Not low 40s . I also red blues tipicly don't burmate is this true?

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
My black and whites overwinter at 58-63 F. I do not know what their thermal tolerance is.

Zach Spyker