• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

First time owner

Paige

A few days ago, I got a black and white Argentina Tegu from a reptile expo. They claim she is 1-1.5 years old. She’s about 2 feet long. I’m not a beginner reptile owner but I am a beginner Tegu owner. I asked the guy who I bought her from is she was handled a lot and he said no because they have so many reptiles it’s not possible to handle them all. He picked her up and laid her on his arm and she was so calm. Her out her in a sac for me to bring her home. She’s been pretty okay for me petting her, she huffs a lot but doesn’t open her mouth of bite. Sometimes she runs away. She’s impossible to pick up. She does the alligator roll, whips her tale and squirms like crazy. I wanna get to the point where I can have a bond with her and she will let me pick her up, because I need to be able to pick her up to get her out of her cage so she can roam which I’ve been doing but she hides the whole time. What can I do?

AlphaAlpha

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member