• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

First Time / Worried Sick / Reassurance

RaptorDude

So like the title says, it's my first time owning and caring for a tegu. In all truth, I've never personally owned a reptile before, but I spent two years planning, researching, talking to caretakers, going to expos, gathering and setting up equipment. Got a better job. Moved to a bigger place. In all, it hasn't been an impulse purchase.

And now I have my Argentine black and white tegu. Her name is Moxxi and she's roughly three months old. I've only had her four days now. She was sold to me by a breeder I networked with at a reptile convention who said he'd been doing this for 28 years; although he said I should be feeding her Pedigree beef/liver/chicken combo? Which seemed odd to me since I'd rather be feeding her higher quality food and raw meats.

Of course, now that I've jumped in, I'm terrified that I'm doing this or that wrong. I already love her to death and any little thing is making me sick with worry. I believe all I really need is a little reassurance or advice so I know I'm on the right track. And I'd like to be active here, too. Attached is a picture of her and her enclosure. I'm a terrible do-it-yourself person, but money isn't an issue to have an experienced enclosure builder make her a larger one when the time comes.

I'd like to document my first four days of experience.

Day One