• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Handfeeding

Galen Tom

Hello all,

I had my sub-adult tegu for a couple of weeks now. While tamed, I am still working on getting to know him/her and strengthening the bond.

While I have an extensive list of what food types to feed a tegu (thanks to this forum); I am still learning his/her food preferences.

However, one preference I notice is that my tegu prefers to be hand fed rather than food placed in a bowl. When food is placed in a bowl, the tegu eats significantly less than normal and is not receptive in trying different foods. I notice when I hand-feed my tegu, he/she is more acceptable to trying new foods regardless if he/she likes it or not.

Is hand-feeding enabling a bad behavior? Currently, I do not believe this is enabling a bad behavior as I am forming a stronger bond and learning about food preferences.

However, I would not want this to become a habit in hand-feeding is the only way the tegu will eat. More so, I would not want a situation in that the tegu would accept food only from me. Obviously, this will be an issue if I was to go on family vacation and had to entrust a friend to baby sit.

Opinions or experiences?

onnie0047

I would love to hand feed mine, except I like my fingers too much. There is a Red Tegu out there called MacGyver on YouTube, if you have not seen his videos take a look. They have. not been adding more files in a while but you will see them hand feed theirs all the time on the ones they do have.

Galen Tom

After a few weeks; I find Abigail (that is her name now) prefers hand feeding.