• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Meet Dino. Trying to Nurse to Health.

How do you keep your enclosure humid?

• Drip irrigation

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Fogger

• Mister

• Other (Please post in a comment)

• Sprayer

• Total voters

CrystalLake

Hi all. Thank you for this great site! I would like to introduce the newest member of my family:

Name: Dino
Adopted: December 2020
Current Age: 15 months
Type: 50% B&W; 25% Blue; %25 Red
Sex: Unknown

I am new to the reptile world. Started my journey in October 2020 with Rawr, a BTS, and adopted Dino a couple months later.

I know I am going to get some hate for this but Dino was a bit of an impulse buy. I saw her for sale on a local classified website while I was browsing enclosures for Rawr. While I did some research beforehand about tegu basic care needs, she is definitely a lot more costly and labor intensive than I initially expected. That said, I love my little monster and I am learning as I go.

I adopted her from a college student who told me that she was well-behaved and potty-trained. I was told that she had been kept in enclosure at night but usually free-roamed and that her enclosure had already been sold and we would have to build our own.

She was given to us in an under-the-bed tote filled with substrate along with two lamps, a heating rock, and a 4' x 4' dog fence.

It took significantly longer to get her permanent enclosure built and delivered than I expected. In the meantime, I kept her in the 4' by 4' dog fence with her lamps, heating rock, and bedding in a 20 gallon tank next to a little ramp I made for her.