• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

New adult tegus

Roxy

Hi everyone. Well I am new to the Tegu world even though I’ve been wanting them for a while. I’ve had large monitors before and I own other reptiles. The thing with mine now. Male and female is that I was told they were 1.5 years and 2 year olds. One was caught in Florida and has a scar in her lip. The male Bruce was suppose to be the more calm one. He hisses all the time and has charged me before thankfully didn’t try to bite. I think he was just showing me he was boss. The female flo I’ve been able to handle a few times but she’s gone down to what seems like brumation already. They’ve both been out and about the house but Bruce will not let us near him and always gets ready to attack. Now I just don’t let him out. They had a humidifier but I also spray them down yesterday he lounged himself at the spray bottle. Almost like he was trying to bite it. He tries to come out if the enclosure straight to me. But I don’t know what he will do so I can not ever spend time with him now. I only talk and feed him. Am I teaching him that I am only food by only feeding him? Flo will even let me wake her up. Still I don’t try to cuddle with them yet. Thank you everyone

AlphaAlpha

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Hi...... just remember their whole life has being turned upside down, sounds like you know what you are doing just remember slowly catches the monkey so just have patience and I'm sure everything will settle.:D

Roxy