• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Soon to be New Tegu Owner Questions/Concerns

Skeetzy

Well the time has finally come, and I am going to be a Tegu owner soon. Ive been researching monitors and tegus for about 4 months now, and finally bit the bullet. I placed my deposit with Varnyard Herps for a 2012 original B&W Tegu. Was going to go with an All American or Extreme Giant, but spending $350 on the animal alone just doesn't sit with me as well. Also, I currently have a bearded dragon, a Mississippi Map Turtle, and a colony of dubia roaches. Was looking for a bigger lizard to finish off my collection(for now anyways).

I just want to make sure I have everything planned out correctly, that way when I get him come June/July, I am 100% prepared. He will be living in a 75 gallon tank. I have a custom top made to fit inside the ledge of the rim, but it has hardware cloth instead of being solid. I plan on just putting a piece of plywood over it to seal the tank. For a substrate I will be using Zoo Med Eco Earth(I wanted to use Cypress mulch, but no stores local have any). Is 4-5" good for a hatchling? I also plan on having one or two "humid" hides with sphagnum moss. For UVB I plan on a 24" Reptisun 10.0, and for heat 2 or 3 65W Spotlight bulbs. I keep reading mixed info on basking spot temperatures. From what I gathered, 100-110* basking spot, 90* warm side, 80* cool side. Humidity in the high 80%'s. Everything seem good?