• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Tegu Not Eating

AmberMcNutty

*This is my first time posting here*

We got our tegu, Monte, about 2 weeks ago(ish). He is from TegusOnly so obviously, he was wild caught. He is a yearling. He has a great temperament, is very intelligent and seems to be very healthy.
Our only problem is that we can't seem to get him to really eat.

We have tried raw egg, turkey, chicken, salmon, wet cat food, crickets, papaya, banana, sweet potato, mango, hard-boiled and scrambled egg, tuna...we have made tegu 'meat balls', we mix calcium/D3 powder into everything.......we tried a small amount of Repti-Boost as well.
Is there anything we can do? Anything else we should try?
Any fail-proof foods to trigger his appetite???

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Could be a problem, but most likely not. Tegus weird out over change. Even long term captives moved to a new cage by same owner deal with not eating and restlessness for a short period. They're intelligent by our standards and thrive on predictability. Next, it's also end of winter, which is their slowing down time. Eat and move less.

Mine are from tegusonly as well. Ultimately, they're happy eating about anything. Best food is frozen/ thawed mice as a staple, some organ meat, high quality wet dog food, a little fruit, and miscellaneous raw ground turkey and beef and pieces of raw tilapia. They are a gourmet garbage can. Please post a pic of Monte.

Ditch the repti boost.

AmberMcNutty