• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Tegu not growing

BlackTegu

This is my first time commenting on one of these, so let me know if I did anything wrong.

I have an Argentine Black and White tegu, I got him/her back in December. When I got her (I think it's a girl), She was about 1 month old, maybe a little bit older. I think that she was about 14-15 inches long. Now I have had her for about 6 months, and I assume that she is about 7 months old. Still, she has only grown about 3 inches, and I did some research and they should be pretty big at 7 months old. I do understand that tegus grow at different rates, but I'm starting to get a little bit concerned because of her lack of growth. I feed her fuzzies, a variety of fruit, mealworms, and eggs about every other day if she is up. I give her the proper vitamins and powders. She has been sleeping a lot, which I find weird because it is the middle of the summer. She maybe gets up one time a week. Sometimes I wake her up, and she acts normal, and she will always eat. She likes to burrow under her water bowl, which she kinda made her own little humid hide. I mist her cage about 2 times a day and her basking temp is about 110-115, and she has a UV basking area. On her warm side, the ambient temp is about 85-90, and the cool side is about 80. I have a 40 Gallon tank for her, I am getting her something bigger soon, I just need to save up some more money. I will attach some images to this if anyone has any ideas lmk. The first picture is when i got het, the second and last are recent.