• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Very interested in raising a Tegu.

CmoneyAA

Hello all,

I am new to the forums and Tegus altogether. I have a pixie bob cat and am now looking for something to start raising in my 60gallon tank. I stumbled apon the Tegus and I love the look,personality traits, and size that they get. I also like the fact that they are docile but with personality. I plan on creating a nice area for him to grow and dig and mess around.

I am very new to this species and reptiles altogther (never kept on but have always been interested in having one and am great at doing research and caring for animals). I was hoping to get some tips and mayb be directed somewhere where i can find a feeding plan or aquarium set up (I know after a certain time he will need a larger encloser) or maybe any personal experiences that may help me out.

Thank you for reading and thank you for the responses ahead of time!

Bubblz Calhoun

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Welcome to the site and :) and thanks for coming. There's a lot of need to know info and experienced people here to help.

Most of your basic questions will be answered in the tegu articles section as well as specific forum sections like tegu housing and enclosures. Some have important threads or stickies posted at the top with helpful info as well.

When you have other questions or something you don't understand feel free to ask.

CmoneyAA

I'm not home now but if I remember correctly its like 4 foot by 3 or something. I plan on starting out with 1 baby or hatchling.

Dubya

1,000+ Post Club