• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

when do tegu hibernate?

marydd

I believe they brumate when the temps get cooler. If the temps do not drop they do not always hibernate. My tegu for example doesn't. Her temps and lighting times are pretty constant. I would imagine if one tried they could induce it by cooling temps and changing the lighting hours. I am not an expert in this area at all because mine doesn't. If you are referring to in the wild. ... I am not sure.
They do not need to brumate unless you are breeding from research I have done.

Josh

Administrator
Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
I'd say roughly between October and March. Hibernate is too strong of a word. They usually become slower, eat less, sleep more. Mine still comes out to drink water every week or so. Depends how warm it is.

Roadkill

5 Year Member
Actually, no, Josh, hibernation and brumation are basically interchangeable.
Here's a post written up from my Master's thesis on the subject:
http://www.thetegu.com/archive/index.php?t-9353.html
Or if you would rather the word of someone more "independent" on the matter, this individual wrote an article later that concurs:
http://theobligatescientist.blogspot.com/2010/11/do-reptiles-hibernate-or-brumate.html