• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Information gathering for potential bioactive tegu enclosure.

Dlaw

First, hello, and apologies for making my first post here so extremely long-winded. I'm from New York State, and I'm a pretty new hobbyist, starting with my leo, Nemy about a year ago now. I got her for my oldest last year as a full grown rescue, and through no real fault of hers, Nemy became mine shortly there after. I've grown to love her. While leopard geckos are cool, I really want something more tropical or sub-tropical, and preferably big. Hence, why I'm here, asking for advice. I have a space in my living room that I plan to build a custom 10x6x8 foot enclosure in, and I'd love for opinions and ideas regarding the design. So, without further adieu, here's what I've come up with so far:

The plan is to build a beautiful, bioactive vivarium for the tegu to explore, complete with cleanup crew and (hopefully) lots of edible vegetation for both it and me to enjoy.

It will have a 3-4 feet deep substrate system. I will likely start with a 3" or so deep drainage layer (probably just some large gravel or something to keep cost down) atop a pond liner, with a screen or barrier of some kind and a layer of slate or similar over top to keep the reptile from digging into it. The rest of the substrate will be mixed with various biodegradables and such, based on the Biodude's method. I'll probably use Biodude's Terra Firma substrate, unless someone has a recipe for a good DIY version?