• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Reptile Forum Noob

dragonmetalhead

1,000+ Post Club
Hello fellow reptile enthusiasts! My name is Grayson, I've owned reptiles for 20 of my 23 years, and work as the animal curator of a children's museum. This is my first time posting on any sort of forum (reptile-related or otherwise) and I decided that I wanted to get a bit more active in the reptile community and make some new friends. We just added an Argentine black and white tegu to my museum's menagerie, and so far it has proven to be a wonderful lizard. I'm pretty sure it's a male (it looks like it's developing the big jowls and I think I can make out those little button things near the cloaca); it's about two feet long, give or take an inch or so. Does anyone know how much food to give them in a single sitting? I have found many excellent lists of what foods to give them, but nothing on the quantity. All I want is for this little guy to be healthy and happy so if anyone could give a new tegu parent some advice, that'd be great. In addition to the as-yet-unnamed tegu, my museum has a bearded dragon (Jabette), a Chinese water dragon (Gandy, short for Gandalf), a rosy boa (Dolemite), a Sudan plated lizard (Spike), a box turtle (Bernie), two red-earred sliders (Zaratan and Yertle), a Chilean rose hair tarantula (Ozzy), some Madagascar hissing roaches, a banded coral shrimp, various freshwater fish, and a touch tank full of marine invertebrates. My personal zoo includes a mixed-sex pair of Mali uromastyx (Spike and Rex, male and female respectively), a Kenyan sand boa (Magica), a ball python (Mister S