• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

im a snake noob

Hippo

hey everyone that reads this, a reptile expo is coming to San Antonio TX
June 4-5th and i was thinking about getting a snake(ive never had one before)i was considering on getting a baby ball python but i dont know that much about them ive done a little research but i was wondering if you guys can give me a little info on them and whats your opinions on getting a baby ball python

Strange_Evil

5 Year Member
Ball python care sheet

Ball pythons are really cool, and make great first snakes. But they are not really the show off kind of snake. They get stressed easily and hide most of the time, you will barley see them. But still, they are pretty cool to look at and handle.

Also just because you hear "They make great beginner snakes and are easy too care for" does not mean you should take research lightly. That happens a lot, take the research just as serious as you would with any other reptile and in the end it pays off to know what your doing.

Are you looking at getting any specific morph? There are like hundreds(seriously a lot)! My personal favorite is the Killer clown ball python.

All in all really cool, except when they have their little hunger strikes, which is really a pain. But that mostly occurs with adults around breeding season. Hatchlings don't really go off feed unless somethings wrong with the husbandry (stress,wrong size rodent, too big of a cage and more).

Look everything over and see if you can meet the need's, i had my ball pythons for some time and i don't regret purchasing them one bit :D.