• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

almost there + question.

checkersthetegu

Checkers is almost complete with the healing of her broken leg :). I had her out for some exercise and to explore a little more for free roaming. Besides that i do have a question with lizards in general since im somewhat new to them. (i have snakes which is my only reptile experience besides my father owning a tegu) Any way i know there is such thing as to much calcium but how do you tell? are there syptoms of an "overdose" of calcium?

chelvis

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Over dosing with Calcium tends to be from too much D3. Thats why there is the whole controversy of do you use D3 or not. D3 is what help regulate calcium uptake by a reptile. So if there is low D3 in the system there will be poor calcium uptake by the reptile. If you switch this then there will be a larger amount of calcium uptake.