• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

breeding dwarf tegus (Ameivas)???

ameivafan123

Hello im new to Tegutalk. I've recently been thinking about breeding Ameivas or dwarf tegus. I live in Puerto Rico and we have a lot of Puerto Rican Giant Ameivas. No one that i know or any petshops have them to sell or as pets. Im thinking of catching a pair of small Ameivas to see if I can breed them next year. And Im really exited to se if i can produce a clutch of these guys since I think I will be the first one in the world to produce Ameivas from this locality. I alredy have a wild juvenile female (10' to 13' long) thats taming out quite alright. But I have some questions like, they like to dig and in the tank there has to be a deep layer of substrate but when the female lays her eggs how am I going to reach the eggs?? Do i have to dig the eggs out of the substrate?? i've heard of nesting boxes but I dont know what that is, since Im a bigginer, this is my first attempt to breed lizards. So can someone please tell me what to do when the female lays her eggs, what is a nesting box and the humitity and temperature in the incubator should be???

thanks!! :)

Attachments

• ameiva.jpg
    ameiva.jpg
    416.7 KB · Views: 82

james.w

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Why not just have someone else breed them and then give you the hatchlings and the credit? Do some research instead of just coming on a forum and asking what to do?

Diesel