• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Caging need help ASAP

Lizardkid237

I understand that tegus need a certain amount of space. But the biggest cage I could do is 4'L 3-3 1/2' W and about 28" D. Is that enough space for my tegu? And also he will not eat in front of me, right now he is just a baby and I'm not sure if he is eating correctly. One more thing, I would like for him to eat turkey but I have no idea how to get him to eat the turkey. Last thing, really, how long will it take my tegu to reach full length? Please help, ASAP!!

Aardbark

5 Year Member
Im not an expert but I can give you my advice. If its a baby, that cage size is fine. He will grow, dubble in size in about a year, and then you want to start to look for something bigger. When she was a baby, I fed my tegu crickets. And dusted them with calcium. Now I feed her meatballs of ground turkey. You could try that for food. Whats important is that you get a uvb heat lamp for him to bask in.

Lizardkid237

Aardbark said:
Im not an expert but I can give you my advice. If its a baby, that cage size is fine. He will grow, dubble in size in about a year, and then you want to start to look for something bigger. When she was a baby, I fed my tegu crickets. And dusted them with calcium. Now I feed her meatballs of ground turkey. You could try that for food. Whats important is that you get a uvb heat lamp for him to bask in.