• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Hello All!!

DiamondCreek

Hello all! I'm new to Tegus, but not reptiles in general. I got my first Tegu, a Colombian B&W over the weekend. I look forward to interacting with, and learning from all the more experienced people here. The site came highly recommended.

MaxForTheWeb.jpg

Moondust

Hello!^^ Welcome to tegutalk! When I joined back in october (this is a new account) everyone was extremely helpful and nice! Cute pic, good luck with your new tegu ^^.

Bubblz Calhoun

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Welcome to the site,.. thanks for coming and congratulations on the new cutie :). I hope it doesn't give you too much of a hard time.

To answer your question from the other site,.. everyone's different and prefers different methods but I feed mine in his enclosure for now. I use Coco fiber because its one less reason for a possible impaction,.. especially at his size. As he gets use to being handled and older I'll fed him outside of it.

Depending on your Colombians temperament you could do it either way. It doesn't take much for them to spaz which could be more of a set back than other tegus.

DiamondCreek

When you say "spaz", is this the "180 degree spin" I hear others talk about? Will a Tegu tail-whip like an Iguana or a Uromastyx? How bad is a bite from an adult Colombian B&W? I know they are smaller than the Argentine variety, so I'm assuming the bite is proportionally less dangerous.