• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Hello from Delaware

I'm Mike from Delaware and I have two young golden Tegus. I have a few years experience with iguanas as well. I'm excited to join the forum here and hope to learn a lot about tegus!

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Hi Mike. Nice to meet you. Some members here keep goldens. How long have you had yours? How do you keep them?

Likewise, Walter. They are about two months old and I just got them last week. One is a bit larger and aggressive than the other but I am in the taming process.They seem to sleep most of the time underneath the bedding. I have them in a 55 gallon tank for now as I'm building a custom enclosure. I setup branches, caves and a pool. I have my sights on a waterfall as well. I noticed that I couldn't find them for several hours and I realized that they prefer to dig and sleep underneath. It's about 5 inches deep. I'll try to post pictures today or tomorrow for you guys.

Bug

Hey there, welcome! I'm not too too far from you, near DC in maryland. I also look forward to photos of your littles ones

On the right side of the enclosure I have this mulch type of bedding which they like digging into and on the left there is a bit of dirt as well as branches and a pool. I'll add the waterfall after I finish building them a custom enclosure.
image.jpeg
image(2).jpeg

Jrock23

I like the setup and congrats on the pick up and welcome to the forums... As Walter stated, you will need to separate them.. Golden tegus are awesome and challenging..