• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Hibernation

G

This is my first time with tegus and i have 2 adults, about 3 years of age each. I am trying to get them to hibernate, ive lowered the temps and shortened their daytimes. I started this about 8 days ago, but there both still awake and every time i go near the cage they come running over, i think because theyre still hungry. Any tips on what to do? Thanks.

G

Feed them. They will go down when they are ready . Maybe bump the lights back to ten hours .. Make sure they have a place to bask ..

G

I wouldn't try to induce hibernation. I would take any hibernation cues from the tegus themselves. If they start coming out to bask and eating less and less, and start sleeping more and more, THEN I would cut back their lights and food, not the other way around.

Toby_H

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
As others have suggested, be cautious trying to 'put' them into hibernation...

Feel free to decrease the amoutn of hours they have heat/light, but I would avoid removing heat/light all together...

Avoid lettign their overnight temperatures drop below 65*F (or so) unless they are in hibernation and have an empty stomach...

Just watch them and give them what they need. When they decide it's time to go to sleep for the season, they will. In the meantime they will need a solid diet, heat, light, etc...

G