• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Housing/combatability question

HandsomeJack

5 Year Member
I guess this is probably an obvious question, but here it goes anyway:

Anyone had any success housing a Savannah Monitor with a B&W Argentine? I sometimes see pictures with them in the same enclosure. Also, whats the chances of two Argentines raised from juv. (10-12inch) together doing okay in the same cage?

Thankssss!

Red Earth Exotics

5 Year Member
I'm no expert by any means, but I would definitely advise against it. Also, it seems to be a bad idea to even house a couple tegus together. There was a post a week or so ago where two were housed together and one killed the other. Not worth the risk to me.

skippy

5 Year Member
tegus grow a lot faster than savannas so if you get a baby of each the tegu will be big enough to eat the savanna pretty quick...which would suck

Beasty

5 Year Member
I have a pair of Extremes together that are babies from last year's batch. They get along just fine and are 15" to 18"+. They are a mated, matched pair and often can be found curled up together. Very cute.
matedpair.jpg

yenyang.jpg

They even hibernated together!
sleepinextremes.jpg