• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

How should I feed him?

Aragorn

So im still really new to this whole owning a tegu thing. Ours hasnt eaten in a while. He is still pretty young but I'm thinking about feeding him a mouse. Should I get a frozen mouse and just thaw him out (and if so how should I thaw it?) or should I get a live one. Also should I feed him in his own cage? Our tegu is still pretty angry and wont let us hold him. So if I should feed him in a seperate container, how do I get him there? Any help would be AWESOME!!

TheTeguGurl

If you are going to feed it a mouse i would get a frozen one, then just put it in a bowl of warm water till it is thawed..If there is away for you to get him out, feeding him in another tub is the best thing for them. Feeding in a cage can cause food aggressive . You can try and wear glove to scope him up and put him another tub to eat! You never want to feed live the mouse or rat can injure your Tegu

Bubblz Calhoun

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
You can try an appropriate sized F/T mouse, hopper or what ever for your tegu. They can go for long periods of time with out eating so depending on the size of your tegu and his fat reserves,.. don't stress that too much.

It just takes time,.. they won't starve themselves.

Aragorn