• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Identification

Broncofan73

Hey y'all I'm new to this site and was wondering if someone could tell me what kind of Argentine Tegu I have a friend had given him/her to him and he gave it to me

Attachments

• 1443930004077.jpg
    1443930004077.jpg
    420.3 KB · Views: 27
  • 1443931368597.jpg
    1443931368597.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 29

Broncofan73

Ty Jessicak I just wanted to be sure I have no experience at all with tegu's I did though raise a green iguana for 12 years so I'm trying to get all the care information that I can lol

Jessicak

Not to complicate things, but it almost looks like he could be a red/b&w hybrid. I don't know for sure but the coloration on his back looks like it. It's just so hard to tell because they're so similar

Jessicak

It would just be one parents was red and one was b&w. They have Colombian gold, columbian b&w, argentine b&w, red, and blue? I'm pretty sure blues are the same scientific name as blues. They're just a specially bred morph I think? Reds are the ones from Paraguay? Maybe. Correct me if I'm wrong though

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Red is a separate species from Black and White. They are occasionally hybridized. I believe that yours is a cross where either one parent was red ar had red in it.

Broncofan73

Ty Walter like i said in my previous post I'm still very new to the Tegu but I figured if I was able to tame a green iguana I should be able to handle this guy or girl lol but still doing more research on them

Walter1

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member