• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Im learningabout Tegus which should I buy?

amon60628

5 Year Member
Hi Im new to the Tegu community and know that there are lots of different colors and sizes out there..I know for sure that I dont want a Columbian Tegu because they get pretty aggressive or is this true? Which Tegu should I get.

I already know where Im going to purchase it from and thats
Varnyard-Herps-inc.com

TE GU-RU

5 Year Member
i would definately go with an Argentine Black and White, i recently got mine and hes as friendly as can be. but remember they do get fairly big and youll eventually need a big cage

White_Lotus

5 Year Member
The decision is just based on what you can house and what you like the most...argentine black and whites are fairly large tegu but are known to be the nicest, my chacoan tegu after 2 weeks of working has become my most friendy tegu but is the largest tegu species...reds are awesome red tegus and sometimes can be larger than black and white tegus....the all-american tegu is a combination of red, blue, and chacoan tegus and to be honest i don't know much about them lol i would totally go for an Chacoan Extreme Giant tegu but they get big so you'll a larger enclosure for them as adults but as far as my collection my chacoan is the most tame, the most friendly, and the most social =P

chelvis

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member