• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Is my Tegu "Kiju a true blue X red???

Jeremy Hodges

Hello everyone, im new to Tegu owning but did a lot of research and decided I wanted a B/W. Well last August I attended a reptile show and a seller claimed that he had received a baby called a "spiderman" from underground reptiles. He said it was a blue X red hybrid but never told me the percentage. The seller told me he would get about 4' (which is fine by me)

Well as he's gotten older I have yet to notice any blue traits.
1. He went into full hibernation from October to the middle of March which from my understanding Blues do not do. I did not change his temps at all (he has a MVB and heat lamp which gets about 105 -115 on the basking spot) and the room itself stays at a constant 75-80 with about 70% humidity due to other reptiles and tarantulas. He is being moved from his tank to a walk-in closet.
2. He has not gotten his blue "burnt" nose.
3. No black "tear under his eye, although he does have some black markings but it looks nothing like other blues.
4. When he was a baby he had the emerald head and still has it to some extent, I also heard blue's do not get this trait.

All of these could be explained by his Red gene though.

So my main questions are:

1. Does he in fact have blue in him or could he be a b/w with red? (im perfectly happy with that) and..
2. If he is in fact a blue X red how big would a male get with lets say 75% blue, 25% red?

Ive been reading that some blue males can get to 4' but would the bit of red gene let him grow a bit larger?