• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

My New Baby Columbian Tegu some tips please

Nero

5 Year Member
Hi everyone I'm pretty new to this. About a month ago I purchased a baby columbian tegu. At first he was impossible to hold without him running away. Each day i spent with him I pretty much spent the whole day chasing him around my room. He never hissed or bit me. Even in his cage he would let me pet him. I set up his tank right by my bed so when he comes outta his borrow im the first thing he sees. Now I can hold him he will run but not far I let him just sit on me and he just chills out and lets me pet him without getting scared. Im really enjoying him and I know hes gonna become more mellow. My only concern is he wont eat everyday. Sometimes he does but sometimes he will skip a day I was wondering if thats normal?

angelrose

5 Year Member
Hi Nero and :welc to tegutalk.

I have a colombian also and she is with me 3 1/2 yrs now. when I first brought her home she ate like there was no tomorrow for first year at least.

what are you feeding him/her ?
and how small/big is your baby ?

Nero

5 Year Member
Baby columbian tegu