• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Need info

Darkangel92

5 Year Member
Im new to tegu's and I heard the blues are the smallest. I'd get a bigger one but my mother wont let me :(. I also know they are the most expensive. What is the cheapest i would be able to get one. Also can anyone recomend another tegu that only gets 3'-4'.

Thanks,
Sara

crimsonrazac

5 Year Member
Female tegus usualy dont pass 4 feet, hope that helps :)
columbians stay pretty small, but are often said to be harder to tame/more agressive.

Beasty

5 Year Member
I have seen blues go for anywhere from $150 shipped for a 75% blue/25% red hybrid to $600 for a 100% het for albino but they commonly go for $250-$300 + shipping which is usually $50 so, IF you can find one, they are around $300-350 delivered to the house. Not unlike dogs, the parent's attitude has much to do with the baby's disposition. Also, if the first thing they see is each other and a human and are handled regularly from day one, any "Argentine" type tegu should be an awesome pet.
My little blue was handled regularly from birth and it is just an awesome critter!
awake.jpg

Hmm... I'm thinking if someone were to start breeding "runt" B&W tegus for size, color and temperament they'd have a decent niche in the market. Lots of folks like 'em but just don't have room for a mammoth enclosure and feeding bill to boot.

Chuey

5 Year Member
Hey Sara,