• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

NEW TO TEGU

WHKRAZYK

5 Year Member
Hi everyone, I am new to tegu's and just recently acquired an ARG. RED TEGU. He is around 2 years old the owner said and I have him in a 75G aqaurium, with a reptisun 10.0 and a hot spot around 89F surfacse, 93F air temp. My question is, I gave him a water dish big enough to fit his whole body in, and well now he like lives in his water, he sleeps in it, wakes up eats, then goes back to sleep in the water, every now and then he adventures around the cage, but he pretty much stays in his water bowl, and I also have 9 inches of cypress mulch in there for him, so I woulda thought he would rather bury himslef then sleep in the water............thanks for the help everyone.........kyle

DaveDragon

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
With an air temp of 93 he's probably trying to cool off! (j/k) I'm assuming that's above the basking spot. The basking temp should be 95 to 110. What is the cool side temp. How close to the ReptiSun can he get? I've never had one that stayed in the water, they would walk through it once in a while and make a mess.

WHKRAZYK

5 Year Member