• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

New to Tegus. From Illinois

Dave L.

Hey all! New to Tegus, but not reptiles. Have been keeping different reptiles and birds for a while. My main focus is falconry. I have been doing this for 9 years. Most fun I can have with my clothes on! LOL! Anyway, looking to maybe add a Tegu to our life. My wife and I have no children and I've always wanted a large lizard that can roam inside when we are home. I'v seen youtube videos and posts that show how tame these guys can be and that they actually seem to want affection! I like that.

Now, the question comes....what tegu? I love the colors on the reds and the blues are cool too, but I don't generally see them very blue.....maybe i am missing something? The black and whites are neat looking animals too. I like the idea of a larger one as my first want was a water monitor....but housing is insane! The black throat isn't far behind. Tegus seemed to me that they were the calmest of the 3 and seemed as though they made the best pets.

So, what does everybody here think? I emailed Tegu Terra and Johnny got back with me and explained that they pretty much all can get dog tame except the columbians. He said stick with Argentines and I'll be happy and it's just color preference.

Thanks guys!

Dave in Illinois

Vayjining22

Hey Dave in illinois!

I too am from illinois and new to tegus.