• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Rudicollis Cage in Progress

shiftylarry

5 Year Member
This is a cage I'm working on for my Black Roughneck Monitor. It's not done, but here's the progress. It's made out of plywood, and sealed with a two part apoxy for garage floors (very durable against sharp claws) and paintable caulking.
EdgewaterCage2.jpg

Here's how I control the lights:
EdgewaterCage3.jpg

I've never used light cages before, but they were pushed on me pretty hard at the shop I visited, so I thought I'd see if I liked them or not:
EdgewaterCageLights.jpg

And here's the night light as well as UVB. I should mention that many monitor keepers have successfully bred monitors without UVB and without a photo period, but considering the limited success with breeding rudicollis, I figure there's no good reason not to experiment:
EdgewaterCageLights2.jpg

Some plants:
EdgewaterCage4.jpg

EdgewaterCage1.jpg

And of course, Edgar:
EdgarHand.jpg

EdgarHead.jpg

I am definitely going to do something with the back wall, but I can't decide if I want a rock wall or pieces of cork bark or what. I know I want to have some vines growing on the back wall, but I'll just have to come to a decision about what to do.

Thanks

-Chris

AB^

5 Year Member
looks good, the thing that sucks about those light cages is the animals will climb on them and hang and burn. For that reason alone I dont use them in any of my cages.

shiftylarry

5 Year Member
I sort of thought the same thing. But EBV insisted that I buy them, so I did it anyway. I'll just end up taking them off. Thanks

-Chris

ColdThirst

5 Year Member