• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

shedding question, what to expect

G

I am pretty new to tegus compared to alot of people on here. Have had them for 8 months or so and everything has been going fantastic. Alot due to this forum and knowing what to expect. I am a firm believer in prevention over treating. I have gone through great sheds with my younger tegu but my female is going through her first shed with me and I am curious if anyone with an adult can share what I should expect as far as it coming off. My young tegu sheds in some good chunks. Feet come off perfect and leave gloves almost and the tail sheds like a snake. Should I expect the same from and adult or will it not be quiet as neat due to her size? She came to me a little messy from other sheds so I hope this shed will clear some of that up. Just wanna make sure if something isn't going right I can adjust during her shed not after. She gets a good soak bath every other day and a swim once a week. She soaks on her own and the humidity is in the high 70's. I offer fruit every meal and she chooses when to eat it, and gets cod liver oil. I searched but my question I think is to specific with generic words. Thanks in advance.

rrcoolj

5 Year Member