• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

enclosure questions

Rhetoric

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
I'm going to build my first enclosure.. I've lucked out and found my current ones on CL or from a friend. I've never built anything before lol. I'm wondering if it would be better to make it out of 2x4s or 2x6s instead of plywood, I'm not sure what I'll be needing to house in the future or if I'm ever going to stack anything on top if it. I want to make sure I do it right the first time and that it will be something that lasts. If I did plywood I would no doubt make a frame with 2x4s or 2x6s.

Guru's enclosure is made from 2x6s (i think), here are a few pics when I first bought it last year. This things a beast, its suuuuuper sturdy.
mmpxf7.jpg

2w20tb7.jpg

The other enclosure is plywood with 2x4s for a frame. Not my pics but the same enclosure.
12firstwindowwall.jpg

13Topison.jpg

DSC_0006.jpg

james.w

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
3/4" plywood framed with 2x4's will be plenty strong. Search for Toby_H's enclosure on here, he stacks a large fish tank on top of it.

Rhetoric

Staff member
1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member
Ok cool. I've seen his but I didn't think about it when I had posted this. Thanks!

Here's another, a lot of you are drylok fans. The second enclosure has drylok. I'm not entirely sure what brand the first enclosure was sealed with but someone told me it was probably a marine sealant. It's at least 8 yrs old and has no sign of rotting or warping. It holds humidity really well, without damage.

james.w

1,000+ Post Club
5 Year Member