• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Need ANY Tegu advice? I'm the expert!

Afternoon everyone,
If you haven't heard of me my name is Rachel. I have worked with reptiles since my first snake at 4 years old, 25 years later I am an environmental biologist who specializes in reptiles, entering my PhD next year in ecology (using climate change modeling to predict potential spread and growth of invasive reptile, amphibian, and aquatic invertebrate populations). My background ranges from genetics, fisheries management, toxicology, climate change, evolution, animal husbandry, and animal behavior.

I have worked with tegus for 10 years, and been a tegu mom for 7 years. I currently have 4 tegus; a male blue adult, a rescued invasive argentine female adult, a yearling chicaon, and a Hatchling Columbian. I have been trained in vetinary basics, and am currently finishing my own 2 year genetics study on tegus, comparing wild harvested, captive bred, and invasive Florida populations with blood and scale counts.

I am here to HELP, I have personally rehomed/rescued 6 tegus in the last 3 years...and I am TIRED of the abuse and neglect they and many other Herps suffer from the pet trade and irresponsible owners.

So...if your prepared to build a 4x6ft cage, commit to a 20-25 year life span, provide a varied diet/regular soaks/scheduled socialization..then a tegu is for you!