• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

Whether a newb or a veteran herper, ASK the EXPERT! Here to HELP :)

Greetings everyone: Merry X-mas/Happy Channkah/Happy Holidays!

I have been silent online this past year, but it was a busy/successful one as we rehomed 5 tegus (3 rescues)!
I still have one who need a home however, please see 'Red tegu' blog!

If we haven't chatted before, my name is Rachel and I am an Environmental Biologist that specializes in reptiles, and even more so on tegus (and boids!). I have a Masters of Science in Biology and teach college (Biology, Genetics, Environmental Science, Ecology, Microbiology, and General Biology lecture/labs) for a university in Arizona, where we now live. I am from Michigan, but have spent the last 8 years teaching in/out and performing research in South Florida. I have worked with a vast array of reptile and amphibian species for 26 years, the last 10 with tegus. I am currently wrapping up my 3 year study (my boyfriend Joey helps-see picture of him with large red!) comparing Tupinambis merianae/rufescens wild imports, US captive breds, and invasive captures from South Florida. I want to understand population differences and changes over time, regarding morphometric measurements and phenotypic variations (to be co-authored by University of Florida). I will post my paper on TeguTalk when it is published, hopefully sometime in the 2nd half of 2017. :)