• Hello guest! Are you a Tegu enthusiast? If so, we invite you to join our community! Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Tegu enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your Tegu and enclosure and have a great time with other Tegu fans. Sign up today! If you have any questions, problems, or other concerns email [email protected]!

a discussion on the philosophy of feeding.

nat

5 Year Member
This is meant to be a constructive discussion that has really interested me for some time, and one that I which to have a better understanding of. Please keep that in mind if you are offended or feel the need to defend yourself.

Maybe its because I am a philosophy student and am prone to presenting and debating arguments (its been drilled into me I am afraid), but I wish to gain some insight into and explore the "natural" argument for feeding live. I see it a problematic argument and one that has yet to be presented to me as a strong case. What confuses me the most is that the fact that here we have taken a traditionally wild animal and have placed it in an unnatural condition insofar as we have placed it inside a home, in an enclosure that will NEVER come close to its natural environmental construst, and train them (for lack of a better word) or at least force them on some level or another to interact with us... again an unnatural component and these same people who agree to keep their tegu despite all of these unnatural surroundings use "its natural" as the argument as to why they feed live mice. I would understand this argument better IF there was some necissary health component to it but there is not... feeding dead is just as healthy and arguably natural as tegus are known carrion feeders.